Community town centres


We are very grateful to all those who shared their experience and input through this project. Particular thanks to the members of our advisory group: Ruth Breidenbach-Roe (Locality), Ruth Duston OBE. OC (Primera), Justin Griggs (National Association of Local Councils), Ibrahim Ibrahim (Portland Design), Stephen King (London Councils), Rachael MacMillan (Historic England), Ailbhe McNabola (Power to Change), James Parkinson (Greater London Authority), Nick Plumb (Power to Change), Phil Prentice (Scotland’s Town Partnership), Tom Sykes (Transport for London), Chris Turner (British BIDs) and James de le Vingne (Cooperatives UK). We are also grateful to James Childs, formerly of the Estates Gazette for the data in Chapter 6 on resourcing, to Frances Northrup of the New Economics Foundation for her insights, and to former Centre for London colleagues Mario Washington-Ihieme and Ben Rogers for their work on this report. The views expressed in this report are solely those of the authors, and all errors and omissions remain our own.

This report would not have been possible without the generous support of our funders: Good Growth Partner: Transport for London, Funders: National Association of Local Councils and Power to Change, Major Sponsors: Greater London Authority and Primera.